top of page
Search

Horseman, pass by...

Soooo....I'm almost, almost done with the final review (that I do) before sending out to a group of kind people who will read and rend and shape the story into some reasonable version of a readable book. Fortunately, I had the chance to do some revision and editing this weekend, and the week before so progress is being made. Anyway, I'm up to page 370ish of the total 507. In theory that means only ~140 pages left to revise. There is, however, a problem...


Man, I suck at shortening things. I keep adding text. The last time I posted here, I think I was at about 126,000 words. Now I'm over 130k. Not much more to say about that. Here's to hoping I can get it wrapped up by next weekend (I'm planning on this weekend, but don't want to get my hopes up.)


The picture: That's our Arianna at the 4th of July festival in West Fork, AR. She was far less serious than the picture looks but, for some reason, she reminds me of a leather-faced cowboy riding the plains or, perhaps, the Grim Reaper on his pale horse. Notice the steely glint in her eye, the out-thrown arm as if to hail her forces across the wavering desert sands. She throws a foot forward to hold off the weakened rabble fawning for her approval.


That's all pretty stupid. Mostly the look on her face just reminded me of how I pictured Roland Deschain in Stephen King's Dark Tower series, kind of grim and determined. Anyway, she's a tuffie and I liked the light in the pic and the fact that it's my granddaughter. Also, it's my blog that goes completely unread so that's okay, then.


Happy 7-8-19.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page